Organic Produce That’s Worth The Extra Money

Ok. I know that I’m all about my organic fruits and veggies. I know that I prefer locally grown. I also know, however, that this is not possible in this economy for everyone (I’m a starving college student so believe me… I know). Well, the Environmental Working Group is here to help. If you’re eating at least 5 of the next 12 fruits and veggies (non-organic) then you will have ingested 10 pesticides. So. If you’re looking for a better list of which fruits and veggies to spend the money on to go organic, here they are:

  1. Celery
  2. Peaches
  3. Strawberries
  4. Apples
  5. Blueberries
  6. Nectarines
  7. Bell Peppers
  8. Spinach
  9. Kale
  10. Cherries
  11. Potatoes
  12. Grapes

And… if you’re looking for which fruits and veggies you can buy at non-organic prices, these are the 15 (though organic is still better for the environment):

  1. Onions
  2. Avocado
  3. Sweet Corn
  4. Pineapple
  5. Mangoes
  6. Sweet Peas
  7. Asparagus
  8. Kiwi
  9. Cabbage
  10. Eggplant
  11. Cantaloupe
  12. Watermelon
  13. Grapefruit
  14. Sweet Potato
  15. Honeydew Melon
Leave a Reply

