Nut Butter

Alright, so let me tell you a little about what happened yesterday…

I took the day off.

I’ve been doing so well eating super “green” doing all this research and just doing everything I can do to be sustainable… and yesterday I failed.

As I said I had a physics midterm yesterday and it was so stressful and so difficult and after it was done all I wanted was an individually packaged popsicle and an easy not homemade (i.e. packaged and processed) Southern comfort food for dinner. So that’s what I ate. And later, when I started to regret eating away from the sustainability I’ve become accustomed to, I realized that I deserved to eat like a typical American for one day. It was sort of a treat for my good work and it helped me feel better about the horrible midterm I had taken that morning. It was kind of the same thing that some diet plans say: If you don’t treat yourself when you have a craving, some day you’ll snap and binge or stop the diet altogether. So, in this case, instead of ending my stride to eat more eco-friendly, I took a day off. Today, I’m back and I’m even more determined to “green” up your and my diet.

I tell you this not because I want you to stop trusting me, but because I want you all to realize that sometimes it’s ok to take the day off. The fact that you’re trying to be more eco-friendly is better than most people can say so if you need a day off take it and then start again the next day!

And I know I didn’t post yesterday (it obviously wouldn’t have helped you at all), however, one of my best friends from home, K, is visiting me this weekend and we’re going to dinner at my roommate, B’s, work so I’m just gonna share a little bit about some ways you can be eco-friendly with nuts:

  1. Buy U.S.-grown nuts! Some nuts grown in the U.S are: pistachios, walnuts, almonds, pecans, and macadamia nuts. This will help cut back on the miles these will travel to your plate. AND since most nuts are grown in rainforests, a lot of the same issues appear as did with tea (such as deforestation).
  2. Try eco-friendly varieties (the words Fair Trade, Sustainably Harvested, and Rainforest Alliance Approved help you find these).
  3. Try buying nuts in bulk (they have a long shelf life or you can freeze them to extend this even more).
  4. Go organic! This means no fertilizers and pesticides (which are made from fossil fuels and have to be transported).
  5. All-natural nut butters! These are way better for you and since the “normal” peanut butter normally includes high fructose corn syrup it’s better for the environment. Check out this article which tells you the environmental hazards of high fructose corn syrup.

So… now that I’ve talked you into some better nut habits, here’s a recipe my mom gave me for cashew butter (though you can change it to any type of nut):

Cashew Butter

  • 1 cup roasted cashews
  • 3 tbsp. water
  • 1 tbsp. nut oil
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Food process cashews until a paste. Add water and oil and pulse until creamy. Add sugar and salt and mix.

So yay for nuts! Woohoo.

Anyways, I hope that you all enjoy the nut butter and make sure to buy organic or U.S.-produced.

One response to “Nut Butter

  1. Love this blog! I can’t wait to try some of the recipes.

Leave a Reply

