The Results Are In!

So today was the big competition. And when I say big I had NO idea how big it was really going to be. There were probably 40 contestants and about 50ish people came to eat and judge the entries. It was crazy!

I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes people really surprise me. Today was one of those days. The contestants were all so friendly, so creative, and so knowledgeable about sustainable cooking. The majority of the recipes were vegan and all of them were at least vegetarian. There was everything from carrot sushi to carrot cake pancakes!

The recipes were judged based on four categories (with one winner in each category):

  1. Taste
  2. Appearance
  3. Creativity
  4. Use of Sustainable Ingredients

The judging process left me with no wins, however, I’m very proud of the work I, and my fellow contestants, did. I walked away with a lot of votes thrown in my direction, and the epitome of the night was when one of the people throwing the event came up to me and told me that my dish was hands down her favorite (she proceeded to scrape the bottom of my bowl and eat the remnants of the pasta). Other highlights of the night included being voted one of the top sustainable recipes and the fact that there was no pasta left after the competition was over.

Tonight gave me a taste of a sustainable cooking competition… and now I’m getting ready to enter many more.

3 responses to “The Results Are In!

  1. Great going and such a great attitude! Your time to shine is coming fast!!!

  2. Oh my gosh. I just got all got up on your blog and it is AMAZING. Like. SO GOOD. There is so much amazing information and its all very useful and relevant to life. way to go chica!! and I love whenever I am mentioned, especially as L, I feel like we are in gossip girl! hehee.. love ya.

  3. ALSO! I really wanted to do this contest!! But I heard about it too late. And I was gonna bring you the poster, I am so glad you knew about it all on your own already! I want to hear ALLL about what people made and the winners and stuff. I am so sad I missed it.

Leave a Reply

