Growing Your Own Food

So… let’s talk about growing your own food. There is nothing more sustainable than this practice. Minus the transportation of seeds (which way next to nothing), and pots, etc. there are few to no negatives to this. You don’t have to drive to the store to get your ingredients, they’re definitely local, and if you grow them as such, organic. And they’re obviously not an animal byproduct.

I have not started my own veggie/herb/whatever garden as of yet, but my roommate A is successfully growing some lettuce and broccoli in our apartment! That’s the good thing about this. Although it’s obviously preferable, there are so many ways to grow your food in any setting be it an apartment, a house, or a farm.

Since I live in an apartment, I’m going to quickly give you some info about how to do indoor gardening. I feel as though this is the number one thing people are skeptical of and it’s so easy! Plus it makes your apartment or condo or wherever look and smell lovely.

  • Determine where in your house the plants will receive the most sunlight per day (I assume this would be by a window). 6 hours is the recommended per day. My apartment, however, does not really get that much sunlight so A tends to put her plants outside for some time most days.
  • To be even more eco-friendly, you can recycle your margarine, Cool Whip, or ice cream tubs–>just punch a few holes into the bottoms.
  • Select varieties that are bred to grow in containers–>no this doesn’t necessarily mean that they are genetically modified.
  • Make sure to water the plants… but don’t overwater them–>they may rot (I think A had this experience in our dorm room last year).
  • These plants do well indoors:
  1. Salad greens
  2. Wheatgrass
  3. All sorts of sprouts
  4. Tomatoes
  5. Most herbs
  6. Green onions
  7. Dwarf Citrus Fruits
  • Point being, you can kinda grow anything. I’m gonna start growing some stuff in my new apartment next year, but for me, I think I’ll start small with herbs. These make most meals and grow so well in small pots indoors!
  • Growing anything helps your air quality: plants reduce CO2. So be grateful to them and treat them well–>they’ll do the same in return.

Anyways, my point is, even if you’re just growing herbs (which I swear I’m going to start doing–>I’ll let you know how it goes), or even just an easy plant to grow (right now I’m growing one of those idiot-proof type plants) it’s good for you (air quality!) and it can be an easy, awesome way to eat SUPER local and organic. Basically you’ll be a super-environmental-hero!!!!

Leave a Reply

