Vegan Dark Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Alright… I think it’s about time I pretend that I bake. I say pretend because minus cheesecake, which I’ve been baking my whole life (and therefore change the recipe for and mess around with), I don’t like that whole following directions thing. In my science classes I’m alright at it (mostly because I don’t want to blow up my labs or anything like that), but when it comes to the kitchen I’m just too ADD for the whole thing. I realize, however, that you may love to bake and if you do read this blog (all 6 of you :)) you may be interested in how to “green” up your baking as well. So… here’s a recipe for VEGAN (a.k.a. the most eco-friendly you can get) peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. I hope you enjoy it (and try to follow the recipe). I know I’ve told you why all of the components can be eco-friendly so I’ll bold and UPPERCASE the eco-friendly alternatives to normal cookies.

Vegan Dark Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

(check out the original recipe for the Peanut Butter Cookies here)

  • 2 cups WHOLE WHEAT pastry flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp. SEA SALT, fine grain (more on why sea salt > than normal salt in another post)
  • 1 cup ORGANIC chunky Peanut Butter (smooth works just as well)
  • 1 cup ORGANIC, 100% NATURAL Maple Syrup
  • 1/3 cup EVOO (extra virgin olive oil for those of you who aren’t Rachel Ray fans)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ORGANIC Vanilla Extract
  • ORGANIC, VEGAN Dark Chocolate Chips (my house really likes chocolate so we may have added more than you’d like)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt. In a different bowl combine the peanut butter, maple syrup, olive oil, vanilla, and chocolate chips. Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Let sit for a couple of minutes and then stir a little more. Break into small balls and place on a baking sheet. Press down with a fork in a criss-cross shape. Bake for 10 minutes. Then try to let them cool before you devour them :).

Leave a Reply

