Stuffed Mushrooms

Alrighty. So I know that I promised you a recipe yesterday, but I got caught up catching up with old friends in Nashville. By the time my mom and I cooked dinner together it was a little too late to do this post any justice. Since I neglected my duties yesterday, I’m gonna give you some green tips at the bottom of this post as well as this recipe which is so delicious and I really hope you enjoy it!

Stuffed Mushrooms

  • 6 small Portabello Mushrooms
  • Bulgar Wheat (I recommend having it precooked in your refrigerator–> to cook use 1 cup bulgar with 2 cups water. Let it boil then cover it and turn off the heat. It will steam for about 15 minutes–>or until soft) I only used about 1/3 of the bulgar that came out of the 1 cup to 2 cup ratio, and am planning to use the extra in a tabboleh so if you have extra get ready for that 🙂
  • 1 cup Veggies, chopped (I used three different colors of Bell Pepper, Carrot, and Onion)
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 6 dashes of Paprika (1 per mushroom)
  • Cheese, shredded (I really recommend Smoked Gouda! It’s my favorite).
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 375. Saute the chopped vegetables until tender (including the garlic). Mix with the bulgar wheat. Place inside the mushrooms until just exceeding the top of the mushroom. Top with paprika, salt and pepper, and cheese. Place into the oven for 10-15 minutes (or until the mushrooms are hot and tender). Serve as a side dish for pretty much anything!

ECO-BENEFITS

  1. Bulgar wheat is a quick cooking grain–> and most of the cooking that is done is after you turn your burner off. This saves a lot of cooking time which, in turn, saves a lot of fossil fuels!
  2. Portabellos are cultivated so they are always in season! You can get these organic too!
  3. Portabello mushrooms are a great source of protein and have a meaty flavor. Therefore, they are great meat alternatives!
  4. Bell peppers are just starting their season! This means you can get them locally–>and they taste way better than the ones you get shipped from Mexico in the winter.

“Green” Talk

Let me begin by saying that I became a pescetarian 4 years ago. Before that, I was the biggest carnivore you could meet–> the first thing I ate the day I turned was a turkey sandwich… whoops! Since then, I’ve slowly been eating less and less fish. I couldn’t have become a straight vegetarian right at once (I’m still working on it!) And it was hard for me to be even a pescetarian. I still crave steak every now and then (though I’m all for animal rights and since learning more about the environmental devastation caused by meat eating I’m happy with my decision), however, I have found so many things that are great meat alternatives and each day (with movies such as Food Inc. coming out, and books such as Fast Food Nation) I’ve found new reasons why going pescetarian was the correct choice for me. Sorry. I’m being really tangential. My point is this: you can’t become a 100% green eater in one day. It’s one thing if you’re already a vegan locavore… but that’s not common… and I’m pretty sure that most of them aren’t reading my blog. It’s a completely different story if you’ve been eating a steak a day ever since you could chew food. So don’t drop all of your habits and go completely vegan just because it will be more eco-friendly. You’ll burn out and probably binge on steak or whatever it is you like (obviously fish for me) and you won’t be going back to vegan after that for quite awhile. Start slow. Take all meat out of your diet one day a week if you’re used to eating it everyday. Go organic on the fruits and veggies that you eat the most. Try going to your local co-op or farmers market for some local produce once a month. And move up from there. There are certain behaviors that I recommend stopping most of the time (eating fast food, eating non-sustainable fish, etc.) but even then you can treat yourself once in awhile so that you don’t explode. I know I’ve said this before… and I’ll definitely say it again but EVERY LITTLE BIT COUNTS. It really really does. Most of the greenhouse gases come from industries, not people. If you REALLY want to be eco-friendly the best thing you can do really is to fight for stricter regulations on industries. But eating “greener” and living in an eco-friendly manner do really help too. Don’t let yourself burn out on this type of thing. Instead, make sure that you just do better than you have been.

Ok. So that was my eco-rant of the day. Sorry for that. I hope you enjoy the mushrooms!!

One response to “Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. thehungryscholar

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love the food picture with the city backdrop. I eat meat, but I’m trying to put veggies into my diet. I look forward to reading your blog more for some ideas!

Leave a Reply

