Happy 4th!

Happy 4th of July everyone! I hope you’re all enjoying fireworks and barbecues while I write this! Again, I’m so sorry that I’ve been so MIA recently, however, I’ve been going through a very cathartic summer cleaning of my room. And when I say cleaning, I mean bags and bags of clothes going to Goodwill (or my mom or sister) and bags and bags of trash (and recycles).

Aside from cleaning, my mom has also been in town cooking for the family (which means I haven’t been using the kitchen recently). Therefore, once again I am leaving you without a recipe. But don’t fret! I am making a Red Velvet Cake and a 4th of July Cheesecake today so I’ll send you some beautiful pictures and info on how you can “green” them up tomorrow!

For today, I’m gonna talk to you a little about the washing dishes v. using a dishwasher debate. I bring this up because I’ve been asked about the differences a lot recently. So… here we go:

  1. If you hand wash dishes by leaving the water running while you soap up and rinse off each dish, it is WAY more eco-friendly to run a FULL dishwasher load. When I say full I really mean it. It is not a good decision to run a half-full dishwasher load if you’re trying to be eco-friendly.
  2. Dishwashers use less soap than hand washing.
  3. An average dishwasher uses 6 gallons of water per wash cycle.
  4. If you’re an Energy Star user, that goes down to 4 gallons of water per wash cycle on average.
  5. The average faucet flows at 2 gallons of water per minute. (So if you’re a Speedy Gonzales when it comes to washing, this can be a better bet).
  6. The dish washing method, however, tends to come out as the winner if you are an average by-hand washer. Like I said, however, this is if you’re using a FULL load!!!

Question of the day:

What would you like me to teach you about? I’ll obviously keep throwing up recipes but let me know what things you need to “green” up.

And, once again, HAPPY 4TH! Enjoy the grill and the company!

Leave a Reply

