Applesauce Oat Muffins

Nom nom nom for sure. I really wanted to have something to take while I was in the bus on the way down to our campsite in Baja so I came up with these little suckers. They’re vegan (again I know) but they’re really moist and delicious. I recommend not using instant oats (which was my problem) because they cook a little too much. But they were great anyways so tis’ up to you.

Applesauce Oat Muffins

Makes 12 Muffins

  • 3/4 cup Soy Milk
  • 1/2 tsp. Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Applesauce
  • 3 tbsp. Canola Oil
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 3/4 cup Oats
  • 2 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • Pinch of Salt
  • optional: Dried Fruit of some sort (I’m not really into it but I know some people are)

Oven to 350. Whisk together soy milk and apple cider vinegar. Wait a minute (to let it curdle). Add the applesauce, canola oil, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. (If using dried fruit fold in now). Scoop the mix into muffin cups. Bake for ~30 minutes or until toothpick test comes out clean.

ECO-BENEFITS

  1. Whole wheat flour instead of white flour has less processing involved.
  2. Vegan (although I know I said I’d do something different for awhile… I can’t help it! I’d already made them!)
  3. Organic, local applesauce is easy to find! At the very least, most supermarkets now carry organic applesauce.
2 responses to “Applesauce Oat Muffins

  1. Terry Coleman

    Love all of your recipes and your writing is a joy! Thanks for sharing your explorations with us! -Terry

  2. Hey, I enjoyed your article it is very informative. I gained 5 pounds just looking at the picture.

Leave a Reply

