Back In Action

Hey everyone! It’s been forever… believe me I know… and I have a thousand excuses for why that is… but I’m not going to go through those. Instead, I’m going to try to make it up to you by giving you some awesome recipes over the next weeks, by giving you some good information on how to eat eco-friendly, and by telling you a little bit about my life outside of the blog world.

As for my life outside of the blog world… I have recently been hired as the Promotions Coordinator for Santa Barbara’s only community radio station, KCSB 91.9FM. That by itself has been a huge part of my life this year. I really live, eat, and breathe the station. I love my job, I love the people I work with, and I love the the people who program at the station. Everyone is beyond passionate about their music, public affairs, and sports programs. It’s really inspiring. My show, The Left Lane, airs every Sunday from 2-4pm (and live streams online at KCSB.org if you aren’t in the Santa Barbara area). It’s a surf and psychedelic rock show on which I tend to have themes or interviews with local bands. Everything about the radio station really is a de-stressor and when I’m having a bad day, it’s the only place I want to be.

As for the Environmental aspect of my life, I am taking two upper division ES classes this quarter, along with a Philosophy class (about ethics) and my last Physics course (thank goodness!). I’m inspired by my ES130A class which is Humans in the Environment. It’s a cross-listed course in both the Environmental and Anthropology disciplines. I’m sure you’ll be hearing a lot about it in the near future.

As for the rest of my life, I finally feel like I’ve found my niche at UCSB. It was difficult at first with a lot of trial and error moments, but the radio station, my housemates last year, and this amazing open mic night known as Bean Night have really shown me a group of people that are not concerned with looks or views or gender… they’re real and only ask that you are too. In Santa Barbara that’s really a breath of fresh air (no hard feelings to my friends outside of that who are amazing and make my life wonderful as well…you guys rock too!).

As for recipes: get ready. I have some wonderful foods coming your way as soon as I charge my camera battery :). Talk to you all soon!

Right after being in a pie-eating contest (it was disgusting). I got third place!

Spring (Eli), Summer (me), Fall (Raisa). Happy belated Halloween!

 

4 responses to “Back In Action

  1. Love the new blog addition and the Halloween costumes are great!

  2. Your costume was sooo cuuttee! Seasons! How creative.
    I am glad you are back! I have missed your amazing blog. I cant wait to link you more often. But I am glad that you have been busy being happy and that Santa Barbara is treating you well. You totally deserve it. Lets have a catch up this week? When is good for you? We were doing so good for a while!

  3. Nice to see the update. Look forward to more. Also great pics!

Leave a Reply

