Thanksgivegetarian

I’ve finally done it. I am a full-blown vegetarian… and let me tell you: I definitely do miss sushi and fish tacos and salmon of any kind… I really really do. And I’m pretty sure any vegetarian or vegan that tells you they don’t is lying to you. It’s only been two days and I’ve definitely craved fish more often than I did when I ate fish… I think it’s one of those you want what you can’t have moments. To mark the occasion (not really but they happened on the same day), my hair is now auburn. Yes… I chose to become a ginger.

That was completely besides the point. Here’s the point: I know if you’ve read my blog you know these things, but if you’re new to the Green Bean, here are my reasons for going vegetarian.

  1. I was already a pescetarian. Cow flatulence is one of the leading causes of methane emissions. Methane is a greenhouse gas 20x as powerful as carbon dioxide. It takes more to feed one cow to be of size than it would to multiple people for a year. The steroids and antibiotics fed to the cows end up in our water sources, making them unsuitable for consumption. Check out this post for more on why the meat industry hurts the environment.
  2. Overfishing. It’s a huge problem affecting our waterways and farming fish is not yet a suitable alternative. There are some ways to be better about eating farmed fish, such as using US Raised fish, however, there are many kinks in the system that need to be worked out. Check out this post for more about that.
  3. I really eat mostly vegetarian these days anyways. I rarely eat fish, though I am a huge shrimp fan… but I will learn.
  4. I really needed a change. (Hence the hair). This is something I’ve been working towards for a long time so I figured I might as well do it already.
  5. I feel like I got worn out writing this blog and part of that was because I felt no one was really following what I said… but I wasn’t either. I need to practice what I preach and be a good example. Cutting back on fish is a good step, but the ocean is one of the most overused resources. As an Environmental Science major emphasizing in Aquatic Biology, I heard my professors talk about this all the time and I did not heed their advice. I didn’t know how to continue writing this blog without stopping eating fish.

So those are my reasons. If you have any questions, you are more than welcome to leave a comment about them. Other than that, I’m no longer going to discuss my eating habits. I’m just going to help you be more sustainable with yours. As always, if I ever make dinner for my family or friends, I’ll throw up those recipes (especially if they involve fish or meat) so don’t think it’ll be only bunny food from here on out.

As for Thanksgiving, I really hope you all had great ones! I hope you celebrated with your families, too much food, and too much laughter. If you’re looking for a great recipe, check out  from my friend Lauren’s blog, Whole Wheat or Bust! It’s for Pumpkin Pecan Muffins and they look delicious! I reviewed them for sustainability below.

As for my Thanksgiving, I spent it with my mom, dad, sister, two dogs, and three cats. We ate delicious mashed root veggies that my mom has passed me the recipe for (stay tuned), crab legs (my last meal), stuffing, butternut squash cubes, vegetarian gravy (stay tuned for this as well), and so much pie–> apple, pumpkin, pumpkin cheesecake, and cookies (my mom makes Christmas cookies over Thanksgiving every year). So basically, we had a delicious feast. And of course my parents had some turkey breast. Since my mom was the one who got me into cooking, it was obviously delicious. Happy Thanksgiving weekend! Keep relaxing and sleeping off the turkey :).

Pumpkin Pecan Muffins

ECO-Benefits

  1. Whole wheat means no extra processing means less energy used. And of course healthier for you.
  2. Lauren adds tips to make these muffins vegan which means no animal production involved means less energy and less vegetation being used to feed these animals meaning more sustainable quality!
  3. This recipe includes mostly pantry staples meaning no extra car trips to the grocery store to make these. And anything you don’t have can probably be changed to something you do. Don’t have pecans? Use almonds! Don’t have pumpkin? Make them banana nut muffins and use this recipe for a base.
4 responses to “Thanksgivegetarian

  1. It sounds delicious though, I’ll have to give this a try!

  2. 1. You are a ginger now?!? Yay! I bet you look so pretty! You can definitely pull it off. Upload a pic to facebook asap.
    2. Im proud of you for making the jump to vegetarianism. I know that must be so hard, I freakin love fish. I know that at the moment I couldnt handle being a vegetarian, but this post has made me want to at least eat less meat/fish each week. Im going to.
    3. Thanks for doing my muffins honey!!! 🙂 Ill link to this post in my next one! I am glad to hear that my muffins arent super bad for environment..
    4. I love you!

  3. I still haven’t officially declare myself a vegetarian yet, even though I only rarely eat fish. I guess I feel like it’s a lot of pressure to label my eating habits. Happy late thanksgiving…those muffins look incredible!! 🙂

    • It’s definitely a lot of pressure but at some point I just had to go for it :). I was so close that it seemed like my logical next step for sure. Happy late Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

